Beauty / Winter

Keep Your Suntan Through the Snow

884ecbc1ab9f58319d90724c68e605ff

After just spending 5 days down at my parents beach house in FL I am more than disappointed to come home to cold and rainy weather. Thankfully the weather in Florida was pretty sunny the whole time so I was able to get some color. I did use sunscreen though of course! (Maybe not as much as I should…guilty) Regardless, I want to keep my color rich and radiant for as long as possible. Over the years I’ve let the sun gods do some pretty serious damage to my skin. I was the girl who thought there was no such thing as being too tan (from natural sun only). So needless to say I’ve had my share of patchy fading, immediate loss of color, scaly legs, and nose peelage. With those travesties I’ve picked up some tips and tricks to avoid them.

6ba9718af2d4c6544c2cf1ab00fb5c78
So as I sink into my routines back here in rainy NJ, I figured I’d share the wisdom.

It’s basic really but so imperative. 

tumblr_mkavxdPLzO1qbge6eo1_500

1. MOISTURIZE. MOISTURIZE. MOISTURIZE.

Crazy amounts.

Every night before bed, every morning when you wake up, and every time you step out of the shower.

I put straight vaseline all over before bed. I sleep in whatever top depending how cold it is in the house but always sleep with leggings and socks on to keep the moisture in. And if you’re not acne prone slather that vaseline over your face before bed.

In the mornings or whenever I’m about to leave the house I mix some vaseline with my lotion so it’s not so heavy.

Even on my face. I mix my a little vaseline with favorite face lotion, Clinique Dramatically Different+.

cliniqu dramatically different

vaseline-cocoa-butter-rich-conditioning-petroleum-jelly

vaselinecocoabutter

2. DO WASH YOUR FACE EVERY DAY

Some people think that washing your face would dehydrate it. But in fact if you don’t do that the lotion won’t sink into your skin as well. Also with all this lotion and vaseline you don’t want to be clogging your pores.

01c4370554f1a846b2f052a2edebfff4

3. GENTLE WASHES

Brings me to my next rule which is to use gentle soaps when washing your face and body. Don’t exfoliate! I know it might bug some of you, hard for myself included, but it will fade your tan.

My favorite gentle cleansers are Cetaphil (for the body and for the face)

cetaphil

cetaphil-daily-facial-cleanser

4. COVER UP AS MUCH AS YOU CAN AS OFTEN AS YOU CAN

You’d be surprised how even when you’re inside your skin is drying out from the weather outside. So stay protected no matter where you are with long sleeves, pants, socks etc.

Gives you an excuse to buy some super cute Happy Socks

$12 a pair 

happysocks

5. NATURAL GLOW

It can’t hurt to use a little Jergens Natural Glow either!

JergensNaturalGlow

bf9d858243bb3d30206d9bbf18b82eb0

Leave a Reply

