Food / Holidays / Music

Merry Christmas Eve from a Warmer Tide

This holiday I’m lucky to have escaped the brutal weather of the northeast. So as I sit here, outside, in sunny California I can’t help but feel it’s not actually Christmas. The bright sun doesn’t lend itself to Christmas lights. Instead of the curb awaiting the sad, dead Christmas tree it’s littered in cardboard boxes the “trees” came in. Everyone is all pleasant and smiling and wearing their bathing suits. And I’m sitting by an air conditioner instead of a fireplace.
I think it’s time I got over all those travesties though.
Instead let’s focus on what, for me, the holidays have no matter where I am. A loud, entertaining family and good food.
But first….
The Pros of Cali:
Good looking shirtless men

20131224-160226.jpg

Beautiful scenery

20131224-160239.jpg

Short shorts weather

20131224-160254.jpg

Sunshine all the time

20131224-160305.jpg

 

Now that I’ve rubbed that in your face…

DELICIOUS FOOD

Italians eat a lot of fish on Christmas Eve

Pan Seared Honey Glazed Salmon with a Browned Butter Lime Sauce

20131224-161045.jpg

Grilled Lobster with Garlic Parsley Butter

20131224-161426.jpg

Seafood Risotto

20131224-161848.jpg

SOUNDTRACK OF THE EVENING

…besides the ridiculous banter 

I love Christmas music but as I get older I start to lose interest in the classics pretty quickly. I just don’t feel like rocking around the Christmas tree anymore. So with my new favorite music site (Grooveshark) I’ve been able to celebrate Christmas without Rudolph’s help.

My favorite playlist is

Alternative/Indie Christmas Music by Kristy Huff

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVE EVERYONE!

*To those not celebrating and going to see Anchorman 2 please don’t spoil it for us!

Leave a Reply

