Beauty / Food / Hair / Multi-Purpose / Nails

December Birchbox Unwrapped

Birchbox_brghtsde

As I’ve mentioned in several posts I love subscription boxes. And as I’ve mentioned in far more I’m a beauty everything junkie. So, naturally, an ideal gift for me is wonder of Birchbox. For only $60 my lovely sister was able to give me 6 months of joy. Sounds impossible right? Well, that’s why Birchbox is, indeed, a wonder. Every month I’ll be receiving a little pink package full of high end beauty samples. I know what you’re thinking. The word “samples” sounds cheap, right? Not when you see these bad boys. First, they’re tailored to you so you’re only receiving products you’d actually want to try. And second, these are all high end products so the amount you’re getting exceeds the $10 price tag per box.

 To add to this amazingness, Birchbox created a loyalty program and it doesn’t just involve spending. Each time you review a product from one of your boxes you are allotted 10 points. In addition, every dollar you spend you receive 1 point. (100 points = $10)

So before I start racking up the points I would like to personally share my reviews with you guys. 

FIRST MONTH OF JOY , DECEMBER

tumblr_mur0g3I0vw1rygg4so1_500

BEAUTY PROTECTOR PROTECT & DETANGLE

beautyprotector

Sample Size: 1 oz

Full Size: 8 oz              Full Size Price: $21.95

Review: Absolutely amazing. It reminds me a lot of the 12 Benefits leave in treatment that I use religiously. Both are very lightweight which is a requirement for my fine, thin, flat hair. The consistency is more of a cream than an oil which I feel allows it to be absorbed more easily and quickly. Both products have multiple purposes which I love. They detangle, smooth frizz, add shine, protect from the sun and heat styling, improve overall health of your hair and more. The scents of the two, although equally intoxicating, are very different. The Beauty Protector has a sweet, kind of heady vanilla scent while 12 Benefits has more a candy like aroma. I will say, though, that the biggest difference I have noticed between the two is the scent of The Beauty Protector lasts much longer. 

Yay or Nay: YAY

COLOR CLUB NAIL POLISH IN DARK N’ STORMY

color club dark n stormy nail polish

Sample Size: 0.3 fl oz

Full Size: 0.5 fl oz                 Ful Size Price: $8

Review: I received a red Color Club polish a few months ago in a Birchbox and loved it. This one has the equally incredible staying power and lasting shine. My only issue, unfortunately, is I don’t love the Dark N Stormy color. I personally am not a fan of metallic nail polish though.

Yay or Nay: NAY (Just the color not the brand)

HARVEY PRINCE HELLO PERFUME

harvey prince hello perfume

Sample Size: Regular little sample spray

Full Size: 50 ml                   Full Size Price: $55

Review: I don’t love citrus, clean scents that much so I wasn’t expecting to love this. However, I LOVE THIS. It’s sweet without being cloying. It’s fresh without being too clean. It’s floral without being too heady. It’s warm, refreshing, and delicious and I’m obsessed with it. No wonder there’s a wait list.

Yay or Nay: YAY

MANNA KADAR COSMETICS SHEER GLOW SHIMMER LOTION IN BIRCHBOX LOVE

manna kadar cosmetics

Sample Size: 0.27 oz

Full Size: 1 fl oz           Full Size Price: $29

Review: Obsessed. Again, I love multi-use products and this one more than fits the bill (besides how expensive the full size one is). The color comes on a bit rosier when applied to your skin but fades into a beautiful slightly flushed sheen. It is so subtle you can use it all over your face if you mix it with your BB cream or face lotion. Apply it directly to your lids for a bright eyed look or anywhere you would use a highlighter. Gives the impression of the epitome of natural beauty . And a little bit goes a long, long way so I even think the full size would be worth it.  

Yay or Nay: YAY

POP BEAUTY ACQUA LACQUER IN FLOWERING FUCHSIA

popbeauty_aqualaquer_floweringfuschia_900x900

Sample Size: 

 Full Size: 0.34 fl oz           Full Size Price: $14

Review: At first glance I would never think I would like this. It’s pink and sparkly and lipgloss. None of which I like. But after trying it out, I’m glad I did. It’s not overly sticky, it’s a flattering rosy hue, and the sparkles are undetectable. It also has a nice little tingle and great staying power. 

Yay or Nay: YAY

lip biting

Leave a Reply

